As part of my new year, I told myself I wanted to be a “working” actor. That I wanted to take my career to the next level.  It’s not quite yet February and that is already happening! My work as the  Sales/ Marketing Associate at Castillo Theatre is in full swing with the Opening of “Mr.Hirsch Died Yesterday.” With the idea of seeking more opportunities for myself in the realm of theatre, I began doing Tech for the show (during off work hours) running the light and sound board to build my rapport.  It is important if  I’m not on the stage to at least have work behind the stage.

I’m really excited to have joined the cast of  “The Colors of Love”, a play coming to the Off-Broadway stage by the Black Latina Movement. Rehearsals have been fun and there is a great vibe with the cast, director, and all others on board.  I have been pretty busy to say the least. By the end of the month, I will have done all of this and in addition, gone on four auditions, participated in two play readings, a student film, and a radio interview. (WHEW)

A friend of mine asked me the other day, “How do you do it?”              I replied, “Honestly, I don’t know, I just do.” I’m not sure how I keep up with it at times but I do know that I hear my mother’s hollering about being “too busy”.  What exactly does that mean though?

This is what I wished for right? In order to take my career to the next level it’s going to take a lot of hard work. “Overnight Successes” are really actors who  have been beating at their craft for years and are just now getting the lime light attention.  My social life and my love life have all taken a toll for the art, but I’m okay with that. It is vital for my growth to get out of my neighborhood.

courtesy of startuporbust.com

Looking onward, one foot in front of the other, I shall make waves in this acting community. I will push for my career and do what makes me happy.

I Can’t wait to see what February has in store… I will leave you with some quotes from the month of January on my acting calendar.

“When you stand on the stage you must have a sense that you are addressing the whole world, and that what you say is so important the whole world must listen.” -Stella Adler

“I got into the business to put a roof over my head. I wasn’t looking for star status. I just wanted to keep working.” -James Garner

“I work for the people who pay to get in. They are my customers and my focus is on providing the best experience I can for those people.” -Harrison Ford



About celitheactress

See Bio Page

One response »

  1. Q. Rabb says:

    Hi Franceli,

    I enjoyed your piece a lot, and I’m glad to hear your doing well and being very productive. I hope to meet up with you, and the rest of my All Stars family very soon. Keep pushing and always remember.

    “The quality of your mind determines the quality of your life.” – Q. Rabb

    Much Love & Warm Regards,

    Quaseem Rabb
    President
    The National Association of Black Accountants
    St. John’s University Chapter
    “The Quality of your Mind determines the Quality of your Life.”
    http://www.nabainc.org

Leave a comment