Mistakes.jpg

HAPPY MOTIVATIONAL MONDAY & MLK DAY!

As I read this quote I thought

I LOVED & LOST… I TRIED

I DIDN”T BOOK THE ROLE.. I TRIED

I DISAPPOINTED SOME PEOPLE.. I TRIED

I DIDNT TAKE CARE OF ME….I TRIED

I MADE BUNCH OF MISTAKES BUT HEY I TRIED

REMEMBER… YOU ARE ENOUGH!

despite your mistakes.

MLK Day was a day growing up I always looked forward to.I loved hearing the I Have a Dream speech yet as I got older there were times where my identity was question.Wait, you speak Spanish, so you’re not really black.”Well you have another language and culture and a country you can go back to.” For my Latinos sometimes I was “too black”. I thank God that in 2017 folks are “getting woke” and the Afro-Latino/a movement is growing. I had the pleasure of contributing to  #IAMENOUGH a Blog dedicated to empowering Afro Latina women created by Jenay Wright. She started a project called

screen-shot-2017-01-16-at-3-06-10-am

This is what Jenay had to say about it:

The Afro-Dominican community was something I didn’t know much about. I knew it existed but not enough to understand what it meant to be one.
What it felt to be Black and from Dominican Republic?
How did the African Diaspora effect the Dominican culture and the people?
This is something I wanted to explore because if this is something that existed there should be noise about it.
Everyone should know who Afro-Dominicans are and if they don’t it’s because this community is underrepresented.
I knew being Afro-Dominican was more than just a skin color, it’s an experience, way of life , traditions, food, dance and many more. I was so hungry so anxious to understand their experience and the only way to learn was through this project.
This is more than a project but a series of stories that represents a community. It’s REALITY! These women opened up to share their lives with us all. To empower , encourage , embrace and educate us on their journey of being Black and From Dominican Republic.
I want this project to encourage women to use their voice and speak up. Don’t let fear hold you back from sharing your story.
This is a space for all women to feel loved, self-assured and most of all ENOUGH.
#ToBeBlackandFromDR is now live on our blog. Blast this all over social media and repost it all using the hashtag above.
Thank you all to the wonderful ladies who contributed. You are magical, beautiful , special and appreciated. You all made this happen and I can’t be more grateful.

Here was my inital response to the release of the project:

TRANSLATION: WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR!

Go to www.hashtagiamenough.com to see, and read the culture that is Dominican.

HERE IS MY VIDEO:

About celitheactress

See Bio Page

One response »

Leave a Reply

