052413_transparent

2013 was a year of growth and development for me professionally and  personally. I spent the last months of the year laying the ground work for taking things to the next level. After creating “Celi’s Hangout!”- Interactive web talk-show for the inspired artist! Dedicated to empowering artists EVERYWHERE! I knew that there were some great things in store for me! The joy and labor of love for engaging the artistic community overflowed into my own life. I started feeling empowered and motivated. I knew that I was comfortable in NYC and in order to grow, one must be “uncomfortable” sometimes.

So in the new year, I decided to resign from my job, buy my one way ticket and make way to Los Angeles! I touched down on February 15, 2014 and after only being here 6 days, I was asked to be a correspondent for Houston Style Magazine! My first assignment, The NAACP IMAGE AWARDS!  This was the ultimate sign that I was taking a step in the right direction! 

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 2.17.56 PM

L:R- Crystal Windam(Interior Designer of 2014 Chevy Impala), Franceli Chapman(LA Reporter for Houston Style Magazine), Gerald Dewey (Videographer)

Saturday, February 22nd began with a Media Brunch at the Langham Property in Pasedena, California.  General Motors/Cheverlot were honoring one of their own, Crystal Windam, the 1st African-American female car designer for the company. We were able to hear from Mrs. Windam, get a tour of her newest creation- The 2014 Cheverlot Impala, and network with one another. It was a wonderful experience to be at the table and to honor the work of someone like Crystal Windam. She is definitely an inspiration for all.

Screen Shot 2014-02-26 at 2.26.22 PM

Next stop was the red carpet for the NAACP IMAGE AWARDS! I had the opportunity to interview folks like Chandra Wilson (Grey’s Anatomy), Brandy Norwood (The Game), Elijah Kelley (The Butler, Red Tails) just to name a few.  I was able to have a behind the scenes pass on what life is like for an artist first hand. After the red carpet we heading up to the Press Room for interviews with the winners. The press room was a chaotic wonder. I was in the room, 5 feet away from the cast of Scandal (Winner of Best Drama Series) and so many others. Not bad for my first week in LA! I am so grateful for this opportunity, brining New York, Afro-Latina flavor to Los Angeles! 🙂 I will keep you all posted as things progress.. In the mean time in between time, Check out Celi’s Hangout & Houston Style Magazine!

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 2.58.00 PM

About celitheactress

See Bio Page

One response »

  1. Sita says:

    just amazing, Celi!

Leave a Reply

