Greetings Everyone!

2013 is here and the first month has come and gone! The month of January went by so fast! Right before the new year started I reached out to theater website with my writing clippings from this very blog interested in writing for them.

logobb-1

I hit the ground running and began my writing journey with Broadway Black!  on the first week of the year. My first assignment was our trip to the Signature Theater for the benefit reading of Lynn Nottage’s Intimate Apparel.What an incredible evening it was! After the reading I had the incredible privilege to join the creative team for dinner over at the West Bank Cafe.  Tonya Pinkins, Katori Hall, Dominque Morrisseau, Gloria Steinem, Lynn Nottage, and Condola Rashad were just some of the incredible folks in attendance. Having a seat at the table is affirmation to the ambition and hard work. I am so thankful!

Lynn Nottage & Katori Hall chatting it up during intermission #womanpower #inspirations

Lynn Nottage & Katori Hall chatting it up during intermission #womanpower #inspirations

A fire was ignited on this evening and by the end of the month I had attended a seminar for the working actor, a film festival, a hosting class, a  meeting with a Casting Director I had been wanting to meet, and went on some auditions.

It doesn’t end there. I’ve continued  to see great work and meet some of the best in the biz that I look up to! See what else I did in January——-

Shows I saw: The Suit at BAM, Fire This Time, Hollow Roots

Attended a reading of Work in Progress: TOAST by Lemon Andersen

Performed in staged reading: Nina Mercer’s Gypsy and the Bully Door

Participated in private table reading for new work of Katori Hall’s.

shows, shows, shows :)

shows, shows, shows 🙂

Although we all have our moments of doubt or uncertainty, tomorrow marks one month with Broadway Black and as I reflect on this past month and re read this post I leave you with this:

“AMBITION.. ITS IN MY VEINS… I REFUSE TO GIVE UP!”

About celitheactress

See Bio Page

Leave a Reply

